Honda wins the Indy 500 once again!

Honda wins the Indy once againWinner #8: Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, podium
Dubai, UAE, 7 June 2022: It was Marcus Ericsson’s day today at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the ‘Sneaky Swede’ storming to victory and scoring the 15th Indy 500 win for Honda.

Starting from the middle of row two, Ericsson would lead 13 laps in his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda en route to victory. It wasn’t without drama for the driver of the #8 machine, however. Despite pulling a three-second gap on the field with just 10 laps to go, a late-race red flag—the result of a crash by Ericsson’s teammate Jimmie Johnson—would allow the field to catch up and challenge Ericsson for the win of a two-lap shootout.  

In addition to Ericsson, the day was largely dominated by the Honda-powered Chip Ganassi Racing organization. He and his CGR teammates would lead a combined 163 of 200 laps, with Scott Dixon leading the pack with 95 laps led and becoming the all-time lap leader in the Indy 500.

Dixon would, unfortunately, fall victim to a late-race pit lane speeding violation, while 2021 Champion Alex Palou (47 laps led) would be caught out by an ill-timed yellow on pit strategy. Dixon would ultimately finish 21st and Palou would recover to a ninth-place finish.

Tony Kanaan would finish third on the day. While 2016 Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi would storm from 20th to fifth and four-time ‘500’ champ Helio Castroneves from 27th to seventh.

Castroneves’ Meyer Shank Racing teammate and 2019 race winner Simon Pagenaud would finish just behind in eighth.  

Honda also took top honors in the highest-finishing rookie category, with David Malukas crossing the line for Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Motorsports in 16th place. In addition to forever being an Indianapolis 500 champion, Marcus Ericsson also takes the lead in the 2022 INDYCAR championship points after six of 17 races.

Fast Facts

This is Honda’s third consecutive Indianapolis 500 victory; with Takuma Sato scoring his second “500” triumph in 2020 and Helio Castroneves claiming his record-tying fourth win last year.  

Honda has won more Indianapolis 500 races than any major automaker: 15 victories from 22 races – a win ratio of 66% – since the company entered the INDYCAR competition in 1994. Honda first won the ‘500’ in the manufacturer’s fourth attempt, when Buddy Rice piloted his Rahal Letterman Racing Honda to victory in 2004.  

Other Honda-powered Indy winners include Dan Wheldon in 2005 and 2011, Sam Hornish Jr. (2006), Dario Franchitti (2007, 2010, and, 2012), Scott Dixon (2008), Helio Castroneves (2009 and 2021), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), and Takmua Sato in 2017 and 2020.  

Honda has had more race starts at the Indianapolis 500 than any other auto manufacturer: 422 starts. Honda drivers also have completed more race laps at the Indianapolis 500 than any other carmaker: 74,160 laps.


After an incredible “Month of May” at Indianapolis, the NTT INDYCAR SERIES continues next weekend with the June 3-5 Detroit Grand Prix race weekend, on the Belle Isle street circuit in Detroit, Michigan.

Honda Racing social media content and video links from Indianapolis can be found on Instagram (, Twitter ( and, Facebook ( Additional features and long-form videos can be found on the Honda Racing/HPD YouTube channel (